Reporting workplace accidents in Missouri
Every year, employees on job sites all around Missouri find themselves injured from on-the-job accidents. These incidents can happen in any work environment although some industries—such as construction or industrial manufacturing—are known to have greater risks for accidents. Fortunately, the state offers workers’ compensation as one means to help receive funds to pay for medical expenses and some lost wages. All workers should understand the state’s laws on how to file for workers’ compensation in the event that they should ever need to.
One of the first things that any work accident victim must do, according to the state Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, is to report an accident to the appropriate employer. Guidelines for this reporting include:
- Reports must be made in writing or via the state’s online form within 30 days of accidents.
- The victim’s name and address must be provided.
- A description of the injury must be provided.
- Specific injury location, date and time are required.
Under Missouri law, workers’ compensation claims will only be approved for injuries or disabilities in which the stated workplace accident is deemed primarily responsible for.
The United States Department of Labor also has guidelines surrounding the reporting of a workplace injury accident which must be followed by employers. Any incident which leaves an employee missing a limb or an eye or results in hospitalization must be reported within 24 hours. All fatal accidents are required to be reports to Occupational Safety and Health Administration within eight hours.
These are just some of the basic steps involved in making sure that workplace accident victims and their families receive the proper help. Learning as much as possible about these things can make a big difference in the aftermath of an accident.