Understanding motor vehicle insurance in Missouri
According to the Missouri Department of Revenue, all drivers in this state must hold motor vehicle insurance. At a minimum, these car insurance policies must include $10,000 for property damage (per accident), $25,000 for bodily injuries (per person) and $50,000 for bodily injuries (per accident).
In addition, vehicle owners must carry uninsured motorist coverage. These types of policies will provide insurance benefits if a vehicle owner is ever involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist. Uninsured coverage must include bodily injury damages of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Missouri enforces its insurance laws by requiring car owners to produce evidence of their insurance when renewing license plates and registering vehicles. In addition, proof of insurance must be kept in vehicles. Drivers may be asked to produce evidence of insurance if they are pulled over by law enforcement authorities. Failure to do so may result in a traffic ticket and monetary penalties.
While some may consider car insurance a financial burden, these policies may offer a safety net if a person is in an accident. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, insurance claims should be filed immediately after a traffic collision. After receiving a claim, insurance companies will have a claims adjuster determine the policyholder’s payment.
The NAIC explains that it may be beneficial for policyholders to keep good notes on discussions with insurance companies and adjusters. It is also important to note that insurers’ decisions are not necessarily final. As such, it may be a good idea to request written explanations on decisions from adjusters. Should a policyholder wish to challenge a decision, these notes and records may be useful.